Confectionery

In the 50’s, candies were simple small sugar balls that children ate with their fingers. In 1958, the Catalan Enric Bernat decided to create candies that do not get hands dirty, “a kind of candy on a small stick.”

Inspired by the Spanish verb chupar which means to suck, Enric Bernat gave the name Chups to his lollipops. A song was created to market them and the chorus was saying “Chupa, chupa, cheap a Chups”. Children were claiming Chupa Chups to their parents, so Enric Bernat decided to rename his lollipop CHUPA CHUPS.

While Chupa Chups became an international brand, Enric Bernat has developed a more universal logo. The task was given to the great artist Salvador Dali who had the idea to incorporate the logo in a daisy, which is still today recognizable and popular by the general public.

Confiserie

Dans les années 50, les bonbons étaient de simples petites boules sucrées que les enfants mangeaient avec leurs doigts. En 1958, le catalan Enric Bernat décida de créer des bonbons qui ne salissent pas les mains, « une sorte de bonbon au bout d’un petit bâtonnet ».

Inspiré du verbe espagnol chupar qui signifie sucer, Enric Bernat donna le nom de Chups à ses sucettes. Afin de les commercialiser, une chanson fut créée dont le refrain disait « Chupa, chupa, chupa un Chups ». Les enfants réclamant une sucette Chupa Chups à leurs parents, Enric Bernat décida de suivre les consommateurs et de rebaptiser sa sucette CHUPA CHUPS.

Alors que Chupa Chups devenait une marque internationale, le besoin se fi t sentir de développer un logo plus universel. La tâche fut confiée au grand artiste Salvador Dali qui eût l’idée d’intégrer le logo dans une marguerite, qui est toujours aussi reconnaissable et populaire aux yeux du grand public.